Tags

, , , , , , ,

Football season. At first, I didn’t really give much thought to writing a blog about the significance of football season to me. I mean, this -is- a foodie blog, isn’t it? It didn’t occur to me until the Patriot’s first game of the season, while listening to it and working on a recent blog post, that I can write a blog to celebrate football and food. Yes, you’re probably as skeptical as I am, but it is -doable.-

Before I continue, let me tell you just exactly how much I love football season.

Football season is the beginning of leaves turning, thus the beginning of bringing out hoodies, jeans, designer boots (Maddens, anyone?), and putting away the swimsuits, shorts and tank tops until next spring. It’s when everyone’s attention turns from the soccer and baseball leagues of summer to the glorious beginning of men chasing the pigskin and their dreams down the field, to smacking the puck down the ice. It is the promise of new beginnings.

New beginnings.. I like that. They bring promises of another Heisman Trophy, of another Stanley Cup… They bring promises of a hopeful thought: Maybe this year we’ll win the trophy; We’ll make it to the playoffs this season, for sure! You know, those type of thoughts.

Each football (and Hockey) season brings good food too. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. You get together with friends and order wings from your favourite place, or if you’re like me, you make your honey something good to eat (which, I haven’t done yet, but we have all season).

Here, I’ve compiled a list of (what I think) are top ten foods to have during a football game.

Football Foods

  1. Pass the blue cheese, please.

    Chicken Wings. My mouth tingled writing that, since I’m being honest. Chicken wings, bone in, or boneless (less messy that way) are a rarity at my place and we only ever get them if we get takeout with pizza or I feel like making them for a game. I have nothing on some of my favourite restaurant’s wings, but I think I make a mean chicken.

  2. Pizza. I find pizza is a perfect food for any occasion. There must be a reason you see it at parties; whether it’s takeout, or home cooked (I just came across a delicious recipe for a three cheese, thin crust pizza in Cooking Light that I’m definitely going to convince mom to allow me to make (or possibly make with her) one of these cold days), it’s a great food to have. Each person can fill up on pizza, wings, and whatever else is on that “buffet” table.

  3. Seven Layer Dip & Tortilla Chips. When I was a little kid, I remember going to various parties at my Aunt’s house in RI. Every time, my mom would always make something extravagant; most of the time it was her Seven layer dip. As a kid, I’ll admit how picky I was, I turned my nose up at the guacamole and refried beans that she put into it, but now, I can’t get enough of it on a warmed tortilla chip! Yum!

  4. Buffalo Chicken Dip. This idea came from Cosmopolitan during one of their “Superbowl” party recipe lists. Definitely gave it a go and it came out delicious. It’s basically buffalo chicken, in a dip form allowing you to scoop it up on fridos.

  5. Coney Island Dogs. I know it sounds extravagant, but bear with me on this one. A few summers back, I was visiting with my cousins in OH and one afternoon while we were looking for something to nosh on, my eldest cousin started making himself some food. He grabbed a hotdog from the fridge that we’d cooked the night before, pulled out a jar of chili, and some shredded cheddar cheese (they keep their house pretty well stocked). They came out pretty good, and I ended up having one myself even though the thought of chili on a hotdog was still foreign to me.

  6. Chili. I mentioned it earlier when I talked about the Hot Dogs, but man, nothing is better than sitting on the couch, watching the game with a big bowl of chili. I don’t know about you, but I love mine spicy, meaty, and with lots of sour cream and cheese on top. Delicious!

  7. Don't forget dipping sauce!

    Pigs in a Blanket” Surely you had these when you were growing up, or maybe it was just me? My mom would go to the store, pick up the Pillsbury croissants and hotdogs. She would wrap the croissants around the hotdogs (separately of course) and then place them on a baking sheet, letting them cook in the oven. The end result would be delicious croissants wrapped around a “pig” and that was perfectly cooked. All we needed was ketchup and they were the perfect meal when paired with mac & cheese.

  8. Shrimp kabobs. Have you ever had cajun shrimp kabobs? The first time I had them was a few years back when I was first coming out of my “picky eater” shell. My aunt and I made them for dinner one night with vegetables and something good for the kids (I forget what it was). Ever since then, I’ve been meaning to have them again, but never have the time to make shrimp for myself (unless of course you count the night when I made Shrimp & Steak parm for my boyfriend’s family) and always get it while I’m out to eat. Maybe I’ll convince my boyfriend to fire up the grill for some of these bad boys.

  9. Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts. Jim Gaffigan once said that if it weren’t for bacon, we would not know what a water chestnut is; he could not have been more right. As a kid, my mom used to make them for New Year’s Eve. I would eat the bacon and throw away the chestnut, much to my mother’s disappoval every time.

  10. I'll pass, thanks.

    Deviled Eggs. A friend suggested this to me and I have seen them out while I’ve been at various Holiday parties with the family. Personally, I can’t stand deviled eggs, yet oddly, my boyfriend (who is the epitome of picky people) loves them. They’re easy to make, and good for pleasing the crowd, I guess.

With that, this budding chef must be off. May your football team win today.

Go Patriots!

