Tags

, , , , ,

I ended up making cube steak today. Oddly, it came out rather delicious. It was, however missing the potatoes. You can’t really have cube steak without some sort of potatoes, yet I pulled it off.

A Quick Recipe:

  • 1 Package of Cube steak.
  • 1 (maybe 2) medium onions, chopped, not diced.
  1.  Chop up onions. If you don’t know how, start by ridding the onion of the skin. Chop it in half and then begin chopping it into half discs. (I wish I had pictures) Set aside in a bowl.
  2. Heat oil in a deep skillet on the stove. Be careful not to burn yourself. You know the oil is heated when you can put a wooden spoon in the oil and it creates tiny bubbles.
  3. When the oil is ready, place one cube steak in, add all of the onions and cover. Let the cube steak cook for 3 minutes on medium heat for both sides.
  4. Repeat until you run out of cube steaks.
  5. Serve cube steaks, warm, on a plate with the onions piled on top.

While everything was delicious, I felt having cube steaks without potatoes was like Sherlock without Watson. It didn’t feel right.

There’s always next time, I suppose, in which case I’ll also be able to take pictures.

