Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Chili Fest…

…Where men (and women too, probably) put hair on their chests because of how hot the chillies are…

…Where the guacamole is not actually guacamole at all but a green, chunky, “kick you in the teeth, it’s so spicy” concoction…

…Where you’re more reminded of Thanksgiving than any other holiday because good god, there were 5 of us passed out in the living room afterwords, sleeping it off…

And of course-

…Where there’s so much trash talking about who’s chili or cornbread is the best and you’ve not even been in the house for five minutes…

Sounds about right.

My family looks forward to this day every year. While normally it’s in October, this year because Zak & Raegan were getting married, we had to postpone until yesterday. 

Although it was a day for chillies, there was of course a counter laden with foods to hold one over until dining on chili. It was your typical spread, a block cheese, a vegetable tray with I think hummus? I don’t know, I stayed away from it. And of course, there was this thing they were calling guacamole, but it was actually a large bowl of chunky, green dip that kicked you in the teeth, that’s how hot it was. 

Getting to it, there were 4 different chilies to try: Zak & Raegan’s, My Grandfather & Mum’s, My Grandmother’s, & My Aunt Jess & Her Boyfriend’s. Or, 2 really hot chillies, and then 2 interesting, yet delicious, vegetarian and non-red-meat-eater friendly, chillies. 

Of course, you know which chili I ended up enjoying the most, Forget jalapeños, this chili knocks your socks off and causes immediate tearing with its ghost chili component. This was made not for taste, but for heat. I would say mission accomplished.

Along the way, we ended up having some good cornbread too, but I wasn’t thinking and didn’t get a picture of the various types of cornbread. I did, however snag a pic of what my sisters ended up noshing because both of them are odd and don’t eat chili. I mean, how can you not?

Finally, after a while of digesting, and trying not to pass out from food coma, we did cake. It was the day after Mum’s birthday and Aunt Raegan really outdid herself with the cake we ended up noshing on. 

