Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, I had to do some cooking and didn’t exactly have the most time to do so. Josh and I went to the grocer and I only picked up three things. Orange soda (which will play no part in this post), chicken breasts and Mexican blend cheese.

Getting into the house and knowing I didn’t have much time to procrastinate cooking and immediately went into the kitchen. No time wasted, I had a pan on the stove, oil heating in it and was pulling corn tortillas (of the small variety) out of the refrigerator.

The idea: Spread the corn tortillas with cheese and put them in the oven to crisp up  while chicken (semi-) braises enough to be pulled apart by fork. Assemble with what’s on hand (in this case, hot sauce and extra cheese)

Not only did it come together nicely, he loved it (I didn’t try it yesterday as I’d eaten prior to visiting) thus inspiring me to get some of the ingredients and make one for myself today.

My Mum keeps a different variety of spices in the cupboard than Josh’s mum does, so I made do with what we have: Goya adobe, Goya sazon (not in the picture below) (my fingertips will be orange for a few days) Chili Powder & Lawry’s Seasoning salt.

Chili powder, Lawry's, Goya & unseasoned, rinsed off and dried chicken

Upon washing my hands, the chicken got a nice rubdown and sat for about 20 minutes (because I had the time to do that today) before being put into the pan to sear & semi-braise.

Before I got my hands "dirty" I wanted to snap a picture of it being seasoned. It looks like a lot, but it's honestly not. It's a pinch of this, a pinch of that, you get the idea. It's... "to taste."

After 20 minutes of sitting and writing the intro to this post (time management skills, for the win), I let a large pan (it was a bit big) heat up with some olive oil and put the chicken in.

As you can clearly tell, my camera lacks sufficient flash and the room was rather dark (our awesome kitchen light doesn't work and the light over the sink isn't bright enough to reach the stove)

And then, (because I didn’t dare take the lid off the pan once I’d poured the water, sazon mixture into the pan) this is the finished product. All you really need to know was that I cooked the chicken for upwards of 30 minutes on medium-low heat. When it was done, I shredded it (and consequently got hot oil/water on my face) and piled it onto a pan crisped tortilla that was loaded down with sour cream and extra cheese. The end product looks as such:

Delicious.

I chose to eat mine with a fork and knife, though it was completely possible to fold it (only the edges got really crispy, the middle remained pliable)

~Original Recipe~

Yields 4, Serves 2 (comfortably when served with rice)

Ingredients 

  • 1 pound chicken
  • 2 cups cheese
  • 4 small corn/flour tortillas
  • Sour Cream
  • 1-2 cups of water
  • [Your choice of seasoning here]
  • Lettuce (optional)
  • Tomatoes (optional)
  • Hot Sauce (optional)
  • Salsa (optional)
  • Extra Cheese (optional)

Method

  1. Rinse chicken off, patting it dry. Setting it either on a cutting board or large plate, season it with your choice of spices, making sure to rub them in. Place the chicken in a plastic bag and let it sit for 20 minutes. Note: This part can be done ahead of time, and you can let it sit for anywhere from 20 minutes to 5, 6 hours. Depending on how long in advance you want it to sit.
  2. Heat oil in a large, deep bottomed pan, or a wok. You know the oil is heated when it’s shimmering. Carefully place chicken in the pan and let it sear for about 2 minutes. Flip and repeat. Note: If doing this with a larger batch of chicken because you’re feeding a group, heat the chicken in batches so as to not crowd the pan. 
  3. Add water 1 cup at a time or until it nearly covers chicken. (This was where I stirred in the Goya sazon) Reduce heat and let cook for 25-30 minutes. Around 15 minutes, flip the chicken over.
  4. At this time, heat the oven to 375 degrees. While the oven is heating either spray the tortillas with cooking spray or brush them with butter before putting them on the cookie sheet and putting the cheese on top. When the oven is heated, let the tortillas warm for 10 minutes, or until cheese is bubbly (the edges of the tortilla will brown and puff up, that’s perfectly normal).
  5. When the chicken has finished cooking, let it cool for in the pan (remove the pan from heat) and begin to shred with 2 forks.
  6. If it works out, the tortillas and chicken will be finished cooking and you can assemble them however you like.
  7. Enjoy.
