Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After spending the morning relaxing, Josh called me up from school and asked me if I could do some cooking for him. No big deal, right? Last week we were able to pick up only a few ingredients to make something that turned out divine. Unfortunately, this time around we didn’t have time to do any shopping and he told me to use whatever was in the cupboard/fridge/freezer to make something. 

A sampling of what I had to work with:

(Strike through indicates cannot be used)

In the Cupboard…

  • Canned, chunked chicken breast
  • Elbow macaroni
  • Macaroni & Cheese
  • Chicken Flavoured Manchuran Ramen Noodles
  • Potato Flakes, aka instant mash potatoes
  • Pasta Salad
  • Shake & Bake
  • A jar of sauce
  • Mayonnaise
  • Steak Sauce
In The Fridge…
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Sliced American Cheese
  • The Sargento Mexi-blend cheese from our last shopping trip
  • Hot Sauce from Guatemala
  • Salsa
  • Fish Sticks That Had Been Cooked Sometime Previously
  • Cream Cheese
  • Yoghurt
  • Little Corn Tortillas
  • Unopened Flour Tortillas
  • Eggs
  • Deli Style Ham
  • A Container of Goodness Knows What…
  • Pizza From Friday Night

In The Freezer…

  • Stew Meat
  • Hot Pockets
  • Chicken Nuggets
  • More Fish Sticks
  • Tilapia Filets
  • Frozen Pizzas

It’s not much for pickings, is it? I began to think on my feet. What’s something that I can make that Josh can’t but is still easy enough to cook and clean up before his Mum gets home?

My Musings…

Chicken nuggets and Mac & Cheese?

But Chicken nuggets are so bland… and nugget-y. It’s rather cliché albeit always a timeless throwback to my childhood. 

Cook the chicken in BBQ, wait. There’s no BBQ to be had. Oh. Add cheese and hot sauce. Maybe if you’re feeling cool after cut the chicken up and stir it into the mac & cheese. Certainly different.

 At this point, I set out to get cooking. Made sure there were no pans hanging out in the oven, heated it to 375. Grabbed a pot, filled it with water, put it to boil and made sure that this time I was using the right burner. 

And then it evolved.

There’s corn tortillas. Crisp those up in the oven. He can make a really unique taco. Right? 

After the initial point of putting the chicken in the oven, I lined a baking sheet with foil and put the tortillas on it. At this point, Josh pulled the container with the left over fish sticks out of the fridge and handed it to me, “They need to get used.”

Sure, let’s just use those too… 

With both pans in the oven, I had a little bit of waiting to do before everything was done. 

Everything cooked pretty great, I’d say

The house smelled… odd though. But I think that was from the chicken that was tossed with hot sauce and cheese. Thank goodness I lined the pan with foil. 

My Mac & Cheese Came out pretty splendid too. I can never seem to get it to the right consistency, even if it is just from a stupid, blue box. (I should take the hint and make my own, I think)

Plating was weird. How would I plate this reasonably? Finding no other choice, I placed the tortillas down, then the mac & cheese, followed by the chicken with fish sticks to garnish. It looks odd. 

Even though it looked odd (not something I’d eat together, that’s for sure), it was apparently really good and filling. I guess it accomplished the task at hand.

