Tags

, , , , , ,

I had to work today.

Luckily, I didn’t have to go into work until 10 am. Those are some nice hours right there, eh? Going in for 10 am, leaving shortly before 1. You won’t hear me complain, especially because I get paid for 4 hours anyway.

But that’s not what this is about (even though it IS pretty satisfying to leave work early on a beautiful day like today, where the sun is shining, there are big fluffy clouds in the sky, the air is crisp and cool, you get the idea). While working, Mum came by and dropped off 2, fresh, still warm bagels for me from the bakery that’s about a half hour, to an hour drive from where I work. Well, she was going to drop them off but I happened to step out of the department when she was talking in the lobby. I went and put them with my bag and what not and by the time break rolled around (it wasn’t much longer after she’d bestowed them to me), my stomach was growling and I was absolutely ravenous, craving the cheddar, gooey bagel that awaited with my stuff.

Of course, I didn’t eat the cheddar bagel first. That would be foolish of me. Instead I had the garbage bagel first. Covered with poppy seeds, roasted garlic, onion, y’know, all the good stuff, it was simply delicious. Then I pulled the cheddar bagel from the bag.

In case you didn’t know, the cheddar bagel is a plain bagel that has been baked with cheddar cheese on top. The cheese gets nice and crispy on top and then congeals and pools in the centre of the bagel. It’s absolutely delicious. Also, there is more than one take on a cheesy-esque bagel. There is also the Asiago bagel, which, I don’t care for as much because the cheese is far too overwhelming during those two middle bites, but it’s a worthy substitute when the bakery runs out of cheddar bagels. Cheddar bagels are delicious. It doesn’t matter if you eat them 6 hours after a trip to the bakery, 1 day later, or 2 days after the fact (though, they never last longer than 6 hours in my household, they’re too darn good), you don’t have to reheat them, slice them down the middle and put cream cheese on them or anything. Just take from the bag you stored them in and have a big, healthy bite. They ooze of cheese and happiness. It’d be divine bliss to have one with a cup of Starbucks (must be why there’s a Starbucks right across the street from the bakery), honestly.

Continuing on, I bit into the bagel and kind of forgot my troubles. This bagel will do that to you. You can be having the worst, down on your luck, kind of day and the second you bite into one, it just kind of… fades. During those treasured bites, I forgot about my troubles. I didn’t pay any mind to the fact my contact lenses were bothering me and had been all morning. Nor did I seem to mind so much that I was cooped up, working on a simply beautiful day while most of my friends were on spring break. It was of no concern to me that I didn’t know how long I’d be stuck in the building with a minor headache. Nope. All I knew, right then and there in that moment, the sun was shining, not a cloud in the sky, and I remembered that there are worse things. Like I could be out of a job, without a house, or even without loving friends and family, all things that I’m immensely grateful for.

So, in short, as mum would say. Happiness is a warm bagel.

