Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Since Josh and I couldn’t hang out yesterday, I’d mentioned that I’d gladly come over and make a big breakfast for us today. Some waffles, French toast, sausage, eggs, you get the idea. 

Unfortunately, we both ended up sleeping in until mid morning and at that point, I couldn’t find my waffle maker before heading out, nor did we have the makings for a big breakfast without going to the store. So, going back to his place, we figured we’d make the best of what there was to be had in the kitchen after doing some studying.

I didn’t end up doing any studying because as soon as we’d gotten back, Josh curled up on his bed and took a nap, pulling me with him. I’d have napped right with him, except his Mum asked me how long I’d be here and if I could kindly make the boys lunch. So, rather than give nonchalant answers, I got up and went into the kitchen with her. She suggested chicken quesadillas, handing me 2 packages of frozen, boneless chicken tenders. Before going to curl up and listen to the fall of rain again, I put the frozen chicken into a pot of hot water, that way after a brief nap, they’d be ready to use and I wouldn’t have to defrost them in the microwave and muck the place up with that awful smell.

My nap didn’t last long and the half hour seemed to fly by. Once back in the kitchen, like always, I gathered up everything I needed.

2 packages of mostly thawed chicken tenders

Flour tortillas & Shredded Cheese (Don't worry, I'm not toasting them in the oven this time)

My go to for spices. Cayenne, Goya, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Chili Powder & that orange very versatile goya powder

So, washing my hands, I opened one of the two packages of chicken and began to rinse it off. As soon as it was all on the plate, I went to town seasoning while the pan heated up on the stove.

First batch, seasoned.

Once the oil in the pan was heated up, I put a few of the strips into the pan, I wasn’t thinking when I put them in so I didn’t sear them in equal batches, but what’s it matter? I definitely knew not to put all the chicken into the pan because it would crowd the pan and affect how everything cooked.

Batch one before turning it.

Batch two after turning them. Yum.

After all of the chicken from the plate had been seared, I transferred them to a plate to sit and then seasoned the other batch of chicken, pretty much repeating the process.

All of the chicken (Both packages) pan seared and on a plate while cooking liquid warms up.

When the chicken was back in the pan, and I made the mistake of crowding it, I let put the lid back on and let it simmer for 20 minutes while I did the dishes and cleaned up the mess from prepping.

All of the chicken in the pan after 20 minutes of simmering (and being stirred frequently)

After the chicken had finished simmering, I turned the heat down low and CAREFULLY took 2 forks and began to shred it into bite sized chunks.

Exercise caution when shredding, the oil and water from simmering is hot and can leave nasty burns if splashed on skin.

From here, making quesadillas would be cake. I put the lid back on the chicken and heated a smaller pan that would be used to assemble the quesadillas. If I had bigger tortillas to work with, I would have been able to use the quesadilla maker, but I prefer making them in the pan anyway.

Once the pan was heated, I put the tortilla in and turned down the heat from medium-high to medium-low and sprinkled cheese atop the tortilla. Once the cheese was somewhat melted, I spooned chicken (minus the juice) on top. It should look as such. 

Next, I used a fork to get the edge of the tortilla and pulled it over the side with the chicken, pressing down so the cheese on the tortilla melted into the chicken and held it together. 

Once I felt like it wouldn’t spill everywhere if I tried to turn it (about 2-3 minutes) I flipped the quesadilla, letting the other side brown for about 1-2 minutes and then put it on a plate with rice, repeating the process until each plate had 2 quesadillas per plate with a cup of rice. 

Since it was only Josh, Gabriel, and myself eating (and I’d made enough for Josh’s mum), I wrapped up the leftover before enjoying.

–Recipe–

(Prep Time: 20 minutes, Cook time 35 minutes,

Inactive: 20 minutes. Yields 8 quesadillas)

Ingredients: 

  • 2 packages of boneless chicken tenders, thawed
  • 1 package of fajita sized tortillas
  • 1 package of Mexican blend (or your preference) cheese
  • Assorted Seasonings to taste

Method:

  1. Heat a deep bottomed pan on stove with oil. While it heats up, season your chicken to taste with your choice of seasoning. (Mine are shown above in the picture)
  2. When the chicken is seasoned and the pan hot, put chicken in, few at a time. Don’t be afraid to sear it in batches, it allows your chicken to cook correctly and won’t effect the texture/taste of the chicken and reduces cooking time.
  3. Sear the chicken on both sides, repeating until all of the chicken is on a paper towel lined plate. Once all of it has been seared, add a cup of water to the pan. Once the mix of oil and water is simmering, re-add chicken and cover, letting it cook for an additional 20 minutes.
  4. After the chicken has been cooked for 20 minutes, reduce heat, and remove the lid.  Very carefully begin to shred the chicken and take care not to splash the liquid from the pan on yourself. It will hurt if you burn yourself.
  5. Once all of the chicken has been shredded into bite sized chunks, re-cover the pan and begin heating an additional pan where you will assemble the quesadillas.
  6. When the pan has been heated, place a tortilla in it and add cheese. Once the cheese has begun to melt, add chicken and if you so desire, more cheese.
  7. Very carefully pull the tortilla over itself (using a spatula or fork to get it from the pan) and press down around the edges until sealed. Keep pressing down until the tortilla will not spring back/open up when you remove the spatula from atop of it (about 2-3 minutes)
  8. Flip the quesadilla over and let the tortilla brown on the opposite side for 1-2 minutes before moving to a plate.
  9. Repeat steps 6-8 until you run out of tortillas and chicken.
  10. Serve with whatever you would eat with a quesadilla. Ie, sour cream, extra cheese, salsa, rice, etc.
