Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Oreo Truffle Cupcakes. What’s not to love? 

One afternoon I was perusing Tumblr and came across a picture with an attached link for Oreo truffle cupcakes.

You might know that I simply adore baking cupcakes. I can’t stand baking anything else, I can’t stand pastry chefs, but I have a soft spot for cupcakes. If you didn’t know this ahead of time, you know it now and it’s completely irrelevant to the rest of this post.

As I was saying– I clicked on the link and began to read. It turns out the author had made a peanut butter ball version as well; which I’ll give a go another time, especially because it involves chocolate and peanut butter (one of the best combinations known to man). As I scrolled down and read, I began to think to myself how it would be cake (pun intended) and a great way to spend a Friday night.

After sitting on the thought for a few days, I decided to make them Friday night with Josh. When I saw him, we had a bit of an adventure at the grocer all the while gathering everything I would need to bake the cupcakes (and then some).

In the kitchen, I was honestly too giddy about baking these cupcakes to really bother with grabbing pictures of all of the ingredients together, and instead wanted to get the Oreos chopped up.

I had one... okay two. Shh, don't tell anyone.

Last year around this time, I baked Josh an Oreo Cheesecake for his birthday. That recipe called for crushing up the Oreos so you could make a crust out of them. It was that logic that guided me to using the bottom of a cup to crush up the Oreos, mortar and pestle style.

The bottom of the glass works beautifully when you don't need your Oreos to be a fine dust, like when you're making a Oreo Cheesecake.

About 10 minutes into banging and crushing away, I realised the bottom of a glass just wasn’t going to cut it and I would be at it all night. I paced around the kitchen, wondering just what I would do until I remembered Josh’s Mum has a food chopper. I had never used one before and definitely had fun using it.

Appliances to the rescue.

Next, I grabbed the Philadelphia Cream Cheese from the fridge.

Cream cheese works great with everything, except sausage. That'll all you need to know.

In the post about making Oreo truffles (something I quite honestly don’t need to link to because I already knew how to make Oreo truffles because mum made them at Christmas time and they were delicious), the author mentions needing to get your hands dirty because you have to add your cream cheese to your Oreo dust. No problem.

That bowl ended up being too small. Use a bigger bowl.

After my hands were washed, I dug into the mix, it squelching and cold in-between my fingers. It was a short while of working with it until the cream cheese was a chocolate-y, soft, malleable ball in the bottom of the bowl.

It took all of my self-control not to eat it with a spoon, or lick my fingers after forming it. They were all chocolate-y.

This big ball of goodness had to get broken down into littler balls of goodness that would get baked into the cupcakes.

Either I didn't make them big enough, or I made too much "dough" because even when I formed 23, I still had a lot left over.

As directed, they went into the freezer. In my downtime? Josh flipped back and forth between “Cranked 2: High Voltage” and “It’s Always Sunny In Philadelphia” while I made us Ramen Noodles.

Before the timer for the  truffle balls went off, I had the oven preheating and was grabbing the cake mix from the counter.

Lining the cupcake pan with the gold cupcake papers and painstakingly adding the batter with truffles was certainly not my favourite part of this whole bit. But, it definitely beats mindlessly mixing batter and putting it in a cupcake pan for plain-Jane cupcakes.

You don't understand the amount of patience that went into this simple looking task. I'll stick with caramelizing onions, thanks.

I repeated the process until the truffles all were covered with batter (also painstaking because I didn’t know how much batter to use because I was doing two batches of 12 rather than one batch of 24), and put them in the oven.

24 minutes later…

Don't they just look marvelous?

Upon getting the cupcakes from the pan, plated and into the fridge to chill, I repeated the earlier process with the rest of the batter and put the second and last batch into the oven before getting the frosting out.

I could have used the simple butter cream recipe from the original post about these cupcakes, however, not having my laptop I didn’t have the means to look it up while out and grab the necessary ingredients.

Confession: I had too much fun emptying the can of bland old frosting into a bowl and mixing it with left over crushed Oreos.

Frosting the cupcakes was a blast, especially getting the frosting from the bowl into the frosting bag. Now I know why Mum has all of those different tips and things for the end of her frosting bag.

Hello, cupcake.

As a follow-up: Saturday at work, I brought in two of the cupcakes I had brought home with me. One went to a friend of mine, Destiny. The other to a co-worker in my department. Josh and Gabriel both loved the cupcakes, but I’d say they’re rather biased. After all, Josh and I have dated for almost four years and Gabriel is his brother.  It was surprising when Destiny told me she loved the cupcake and was (pleasantly) shocked that it was from my kitchen and not a bakery.

