Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This year, we did Easter brunch instead of Easter dinner. 

Easter, thankfully isn’t like Christmas. Mum leaves a basket out for each of us girls, but my youngest sister doesn’t get us up at o’dark thirty to go and look at what we were given. It being Sunday, I woke up bright and early (9:45 is early on Sunday), on my own terms, and went upstairs. The child was on the laptop, her Easter basket at her feet. Mum was up to something in the kitchen, and my other sister was nowhere to be found. She must have still been sleeping. I didn’t lay a hand on my Easter basket until after I’d showered and was more awake, when I did, I wasn’t disappointed.

The Easter Basket

I didn’t have much time to nosh on candy before we left for my grandfather’s, nor did I want to because I knew we were going to be doing brunch.

I wasn’t exactly sure what we’d be noshing on, however, all I did know is that it would be good and I would want my appetite. I was right in that aspect. My uncle’s girlfriend prepared a couple great things: an egg casserole with sun-dried tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, sausage, and cheese; and a potato hash with I don’t know what, but it was delicious. To go with it, there were fresh fruit skewers with melon, pineapple, kiwi, and grapes.

After brunch, my uncle opened the gifts that we’d given him (brunch was serving as Easter brunch and a belated birthday celebration) and then we girls opened our gifts before doing an Easter egg hunt. Digression real quick: does anyone else ever get that one egg that nobody can EVER find or is it just us? After giving up looking for the egg and relaxing in the sun for a bit, we went back inside for a bit of pie.

Peanut butter pie and Pillsbury cut and bake cookies

I’m not a pie person. I don’t much care for your typical pies. Cherry pie? No thank you. Apple pie? I’ll pass. Pumpkin pie? Again, no thank you. Banana cream? Not my favourite, thanks. However, I love peanut butter and chocolate mousse pies. Mum makes the best chocolate mousse pie, but my Gran makes the best peanut butter pie. It was so rich, decadent and flavourful. Especially with bits of chocolate and peanut butter candy on top.

After pie, My sister, Mum, Grandfather and I all made it to the living room. I took my spot on the couch under the picture window that overlooked the street, my sister took the massaging recliner in the corner, and my mum took the love seat. Needless to say, as soon as it was quiet we were all out cold. An hour later, we all came to and my sister and I were talking about what to do for dinner with Mum. It was the general consensus that rather than try to make it to my Aunt’s for dinner, we ought to just do Chinese.

Mum went and picked up the food from our favourite restaurant the Hu Ke Lau, which is well worth the half hour drive from our house. She picked up a few of our favourites:

  • Pan Fried Noodles
  • White Rice
  • Chicken fingers (because no offence, their general taos isn’t the greatest)
  • Boneless pork spare ribs
  • Beef teriyaki
  • Wonton Soup

Who needs ham when you can have pan-fried noodles, boneless pork spare ribs, and chicken? Not shown in the picture, a pint of hot wonton soup that did just the trick for my achy throat.

For what it’s worth, even though we didn’t do a formal Easter dinner, I still had ham. Tonight when I was visiting Josh, even though I insisted I wasn’t hungry, he and his father both insisted that I eat something. They won. I ended up with a plate of ham, white rice, and beans. It was delicious, like always.

