Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This weekend was chaotic: I worked a bunch of hours (more money for food, which means more cooking) and it was my kid sister’s birthday. We went to Olive Garden for dinner Saturday night and I tried a dish that inspired a recipe thought. However, that plays no purpose here. 

I’m writing instead because of Salsa.

Yes, Passionate Culinarian, this post is for you.

I had salsa on the brain pretty much all day today while I was working. I tried to remember the last time I’d had salsa with anything and what was in it. Was there actually a recipe for making salsa (Now: obviously)? What goes into it? Ingredients were constantly on my mind: tomatoes, onions, peppers, lime juice, garlic (because my family puts garlic in everything), chilies of sorts?

It was all I could do to hold on to everything so that I could write it all out at break and didn’t hesitate to grab my notebook to scrawl the ingredients down before they left me. It wasn’t until after I’d finished writing that I titled the recipe and then looked back at it, scribbling and crossing out amounts, changing them. Alas, I came up with what I thought would be a good recipe.

Please bear in mind, it’s still in the beginning stages (in spite of all the editing) and I’ve not yet mixed it and played with it. When I do, you can expect another post.

~ Recipe: Salsa ~

Ingredients:

3 Cups Roma tomatoes, chopped
1 1/2 Cups onions, chopped
1/2 Cup green bell peppers, chopped
1/2 Cup red bell peppers, chopped
1/2 Cup yellow bell peppers, chopped
6 cloves of garlic, minced (Here in the Howard family, we like our garlic)
1 lime, juiced
Tomato purée
2 jalapeños seeded, chopped
2 TB Chili powder -or- to taste

Method:

  1. Combine all in a large bowl, let sit for 6-8 hours or overnight for best flavour.
  2. Serve with chicken, steak, rice, or with tortilla chips.
