Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday, I utilised some of the bell peppers that I have left to make a delicious, colourful scramble (that admittedly was more peppers than eggs). Tonight, I utilised some more peppers to add to some of the rice that my mother had made.

There’s something delicious about vibrant vegetables. Sure, growing up I wouldn’t touch vegetables to save my soul, but now, if given the opportunity (read: I have them on hand) I much prefer cooking with them: They add colour to a simple, white plate and they’re great for you. Don’t get me wrong, I still love big, juicy cuts of beef or syrup and barbecue glazed chicken, but pair it with sautéed or grilled vegetables like summer squash, zucchini, or bell peppers and the dish gets another whole layer of tastes and textures to be enjoyed!

That aside, tonight Mum had made rice with chopped up chicken, garlic, and fine chopped onions with just a hint of basil, rosemary and thyme.

Rather than just having the rice alone, I’ve been on a kick for a bowl of white rice topped with sautéed chicken and peppers, a dish reminiscent and inspired by something Josh’s dad made one night I was over the house that was incredibly delicious. Knowing that I wouldn’t be able to fully recreate it, yet wanting to add something to the rice, I pulled out some of the peppers that I had chopped up yesterday and set a pan on the stove to warm up.

When the pan was warm, I added the peppers, reduced the heat and let them cook for about 15 minutes over medium low heat. 

After the peppers finished cooking, I served them on top of a bowl of rice and voila: 

This was definitely a quick yet wholesome dinner. Between the aromatic sautéed bell peppers, to the delicious rice with chicken, it was definitely filling without being overkill: the perfect “late” dinner.

