Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This past weekend, I got a cookbook and a recipe binder as early birthday gifts from Josh (my birthday is next month, but that’s for a different post). Both items are incredibly versatile and will be (I’m sure) immensely helpful in continuing along the path to becoming a chef. Over the course of the last 5 days, I’ve flipped through the cookbook a few times. I’ve not stopped and read through it yet, only merely glancing through. It’s set up in sections, with the first section being helpful hints and tips about what to keep in your kitchen, from pantry to fridge, utensils and cookware too. After that there is a section on cooking breakfast, followed by salads, then soups. Beyond that it goes into pasta, grains, poultry, pork, beef, lamb and then seafood. It’s honestly pretty handy, this cookbook. Today, I flipped through the pasta section and came across a fairly straightforward and simple recipe: Pasta, eggs and cheese. 

According to the cookbook, this is to be thought of as an “Italian comfort food” and thus, it sounded like the type of dish I wanted to enjoy today.

After reading through the page with the recipe at least three times to get the gist of it, I set about gathering the things I would need.

The cookbook, Linguine, eggs, and parmesan cheese

First thing I did was get a pot on the stove with water in which I would cook the pasta. While the water heated up, I got a casserole dish into the oven (which had been heating up at 200 degrees). Once the casserole dish was warming up, I set about grating the cheese. 

Normally I would use the cheese grater off of Mum’s mandolin, but our restaurant style grater (like the ones they have at Olive Garden) was clean and I was able to use it instead.

While the water came to a roiling bubble, I removed the now warmed casserole dish and added the three eggs, cheese and a 1/4th a cup of heavy cream to it.

I didn’t hesitate to stir it up, and good thing I did. The heat from the bowl had partially begun to cook the eggs.

The eggs, cream, and cheese all combined.

I set aside the dish while the pasta finished cooking (it was half done at this point) and grated up some more cheese to garnish.

When the pasta finished cooking, I quickly got it from the strainer into the casserole dish. 

Even after it was well tossed, it still seemed a little soupy and though I trust myself, I don’t trust myself that much. I popped the casserole dish, pasta and all, back into the oven for an additional ten (10) minutes at 300 degrees.

When it came out of the oven, it wasn’t dried out or egg-y like you might expect. Instead, it was still moist and smelled delicious.

Bon Apetit!

The pasta, eggs, cream, and cheese all came together beautifully. The pasta wasn’t overcooked at all, and there wasn’t an overwhelming flavour of eggs. If anything was overwhelming it was the cheese, but that is because I used more than 1/2 cup. Overall, it was delicious, easy to make with ingredients that I keep around the house, and even easier to clean up because while the pasta is setting in the dish, you can easily wash the pan and strainer.

~Not My Recipe: Pasta, Eggs & Cheese~

Courtesy of Mark Bittman, author of How To cook Everything: the basics

Ingredients:

  • Salt
  • Three Eggs
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated pecorino Romano or Parmesan cheese, or more to taste
  • 1 Pound linguine (I used 1/2 pound)
  • Freshly Ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

Method (in my words):

  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil. While doing so, put a casserole dish into the oven at 200 degrees (Fahrenheit) for five (5) minutes. When the bowl is warm, remove it and add the eggs, cheese and cream.
  2. Once the water has come to a roiling bubble, add the pasta and cook for ten (10) minutes until al dente.
  3. Strain the pasta and add it to the egg, cream, and cheese mix, tossing well to coat.
  4. *If it is soupy (like mine was) and you don’t think the eggs are cooked, toss it back in the oven for ten (10) minutes at 300 degrees (Fahrenheit).
