Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After a hearty breakfast Friday morning, I offered my help in my Aunt’s kitchen wherever I was needed. I learned how to cut and pit a honeydew (pitting was fun, just pulled the seeds out with my hands. It reminded me of pitting a pumpkin), helped assemble a huge fruit salad, and then made the buffalo chicken dip.

I’ve always wanted to make a buffalo chicken dip, but have never gotten around to it. The first thing we did was find a recipe. After finding a decent recipe, we turned it into a guideline. My aunt and I messed with ratios and scaled things up. We weren’t sure how many people we were going to be feeding. Once we had an idea of how much of everything we needed, I gathered everything we’d need.

This is a blog worthy picture. It’s not often that family makes it into blog posts and this is my grandfather, as you can see, making the picture of the ingredients a great candid.

We grabbed a big silver pan from the stack (we had a lot to work with) and started by putting the chicken into the pan. Once it was mashed up, we added a lot of the Philly cream cheese and then mashed it to mix. Mashing it up was an effort. It would have been better to use a potato masher, now that I think about it. But we got the desired effect by using a fork. 

We added hot sauce and gave it a good stir to mix everything. According to my aunt, it was supposed to be a couple more shades orange than it was. 

When we added the bleu cheese and ranch (it’s pertinent that you do, otherwise it’s inedible to those who can’t tolerate the heat), my aunt gave it a taste and decided that we needed more hot sauce. At that point, we were waiting for mum to get back from the grocer and so we had a little bit of down time. We threw some foil on the mixture and let it sit. When mum got home, we added another full bottle of Frank’s Red Hot. At that point it was the right shade of reddish orange. 

We tossed some cheese on top, replaced the foil and let it sit until people started showing up to the house for the party. When people started coming in, my aunt put the pan with the dip into the oven and let it cook until it was bubbly. The end product was pretty delicious.

Taken with Instagram, this is a picture of the chips and dip. It was absolutely delicious and could be snacked on with anything. Pair it with broccoli and green peppers, or put it on bread for a spicy chicken sandwich, it was paired with countless things and was delicious on it’s own.

We had a good amount of dip left over from the party that we were eating it at breakfast the morning of my cousin’s graduation, and then later that afternoon when family showed up while we waited for the turkey to finish cooking. It went really fast and was “dangerously” good. All of us in the kitchen would swing by the island, chip/broccoli floret/pepper in hand and dip it into the casserole dish.

~Recipe: Buffalo Chicken Dip, scaled down~

The original recipe can be found here, but my aunt and I didn’t like the ratio of cream cheese to everything else, nor are we particularly fond of ranch dressing so we halved the ranch and did half ranch, half bleu cheese.

Ingredients:

  • 20 oz of canned chicken breast
  • Cream cheese to taste (it mellows out the hot sauce and adds flavour and body to the dip)
  • 1/2 cup bleu cheese crumbles
  • 1/2 ranch dressing
  • 1 1/2 cups of hot sauce
  • 1 1/2 cups cheddar (or Colby Jack) cheese

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 375
  2. Empty water from canned chicken, pour chicken into the casserole dish. Mash like you would to make a chicken salad sandwich.
  3. Add cream cheese. Mash until well combined (I recommend using a potato masher and not a fork for this)
  4. Add hot sauce.
  5. Stir in bleu cheese and ranch
  6. Sprinkle shredded cheese atop the whole mix and set to cook in the oven until bubbly.
