Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I wasn’t feeling the best today. It was probably due in part to the funky, on-off rain that we had, but it didn’t change the fact that I had a headache and the beginnings of a sore throat. 

Today, I didn’t eat much. I didn’t have that much of an appetite, so I didn’t bother to cook. That’s how you know I’m sick- when even cooking doesn’t appeal to me. By the time what most consider to be dinner time rolled around, I was hungry. I went upstairs and poked my head in the fridge, looking around. The previous two evenings I hadn’t been home, so I didn’t know what we had in the house for me to work with. I came across a bowl of left over spaghetti that was without sauce and found a jar of “alfredo” sauce in the cupboard. I use the quotes around alfredo because that stuff isn’t alfredo sauce. I don’t know what it is and I certainly don’t like using it now that I know how to make alfredo sauce from scratch. Unfortunately, we don’t have any Parmesan cheese on hand, nor did I feel up to cooking anything major and I was stuck with the jar sauce and the pasta. This was disrespecting my taste buds at it’s finest, but I didn’t care that it was tasteless. It cooked on high, covered for two (2) minutes in the microwave. It was simple to clean up and it served it’s purpose: my stomach had stopped growling.

It doesn’t even look appetising.

When my sister woke up from her after school cat-nap, it was evident that she wasn’t feeling well either. Rather than do dinner at our Gran’s like we usually do, my sister and I opted to stay home, but had our dad bring us some of the ramen that we know my Gran keeps in her cupboard.

Around 10:30 with my throat feeling a little sore, I headed back up to the kitchen to make a bowl of ramen for myself. A while ago, a friend and I had a conversation about food and he asked me how I take my ramen. It’s my prerogative that one doesn’t make ramen in the microwave. That stuff is meant to be made on the stove top. I also don’t mind getting creative with it, but tonight I was a purist. 2.5 cups of water and one package of noodles. I even took the time to cook it over medium heat for five (5) minutes instead of over a roiling boil for three (3). The result? Ramen noodles that would hopefully kick my sore throat in the butt.

“Oriental” flavour.

Ramen, whether I make it like mum used to when I was sick,  if I eat it like my uncle taught me to with chop sticks, or if I get creative and made an interesting skillet out of it, is still at the end of the day: ramen. It tastes good and it’s my go to when I’m not feeling well, especially when nobody wants to make a batch of fresh chicken noodle soup.

