Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A while ago, I stumbled across a recipe that claimed to be a “skillet” meal. It called for a wide variety of things: tomato soup, salsa, beef, sour cream, tortillas, et cetera. I’ve made it a few times, and because of this, I’ve long since stopped using the recipe. Every time I make it, I always have different things on hand and it comes out slightly different each time.

The first time I made it, I bought a “family” sized can of tomato soup, so it had more of that sweet, tomato soup undertone. Another time I made it, I used less salsa than what the “recipe” called for. The time after that, I subbed salsa out for those Taco Bell “fire sauce” packets because we had those on hand. But, ever since the first time I made this, it’s not been a “skillet meal” it’s turned into a dip. I made it for the Superbowl this year and Josh’s dad loved it as much as he did. The point remains the same though: No matter how often I make it, there’s always a slight variation. Perhaps next time I make it, I’ll throw chopped onion in while the beef cooks and it will add another layer of textures and flavours in.

Today after a trip to the grocer with Josh, I set to work getting the dip made.

Back (left to right): Restaurant Style tortilla chips, sour cream, salsa and tomato soup.
Front: “Mexican blend” cheese & 1.25 pounds of ground beef.

This was like clockwork for me: I went and got a deep bottomed skillet, turned the heat to medium-high, added the beef (noticing that though it looked “fresh” it was ground the night before and packaged), letting it brown. It’s always been a habit, to brown the beef with spices. Today, I added a blend of chili powder, cayenne pepper, and black pepper. 

I’ll admit, I always have trouble pouring off the excess fat from the meat because it seems no matter what I do, some of the meat ends up in the grease that I’m spooning/pouring off. Today was no different. Once the beef had browned, I brought the skillet (still piping hot, sizzling and crackling mind you) over to the sink where I had the water running and tried to spoon off some of the grease. It worked better than I thought it would, but I’ve yet to figure out how my mum can pour off the excess fat without any of the meat going down the drain as well.

Once the meat was drained of most of the fat, I replaced the skillet back on the stove and began adding things in no particular order. The condensed tomato soup was added, a dallop of sour cream and a good amount of salsa. Once stirred, it wasn’t the most pleasant looking creation, but it smelled delightful. 

After the concotion had bubbled away for fifteen (15) minutes on high heat, I added in Frank’s Red Hot and a majourity of the shredded cheese before replacing the lid and reducing the heat.

After 20 minutes, this is what it looked like: 

Before serving the dip, I added a little bit of sour cream to the bottom of each of the bowls and then poured in the dip, garnishing it with cheese on top. 

Bon Apetit!

~Recipe: Campbell’s Inspired Dip~

This stuff is so good that you can eat it straight out of the bowl with a spoon, no chips necessary, but it makes the perfect dipping sauce for warmed tortilla chips, especially on cooler, rainy days. For a spicier kick, you can always add more hot sauce because the cheese and sour cream really tone the heat down. 

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground hamburger, 85% lean
  • 1 can Campbell’s condensed Tomato Soup
  • 1/2 cup Sour Cream (or more to taste)
  • 1/2 cup Salsa (or more to taste)
  • 1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot
  • 2 Cups Shredded “Mexican Blend” cheese.

Method:

  1. In a large, deep bottom pan cook hamburger until browned.
  2. Pour off excess fat
  3. Replace pan on stove and add the tomato soup, sour cream and salsa, stirring until well combined
  4. Cover mixture and allow to cook over medium-high heat for fifteen (15) minutes.
  5. Uncover mixture, add in cheese and franks red hot, stirring until well combined.
  6. Reduce heat to low, replace cover and allow to cook an additional twenty (20) minutes.
  7. Allow for pan to sit and cool for at least 10 minutes before serving in individual bowls.
  8. Serve with warmed tortilla chips and extra sour cream and salsa if desired.
