Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good morning! I haven’t been cooking lately. Then again, I haven’t been home and haven’t had any money to really do so. It’s not that I’m broke, but I’m saving up for a vacation, where I’ll be doing plenty of cooking and the such. I was checking out food blogs on Tumblr, Blogspot, even here on WordPress and came to the conclusion that I need to change a few things about the blog. But it’ll be nothing too major. The original purpose in looking through the various blogs that I was looking at is to find foods to cook so that way when I do, I’ll have excellent things to write about. 

Here’s what I came across:

Ice cream cone shaped pizza. I didn’t know such an awesome thing existed until Josh came across it on Facebook and expressed that he wanted me to make it for him. Seeing as I’ve never made my own pizza dough before, this will give me the perfect excuse to try out a recipe I stumbled across.

Chicken Parmesan Grilled Cheese. I once had a chicken parmesan sandwich while out to eat. It was absolutely delicious: saucy chicken and bubbly cheese in side of a gently toasted grinder roll…. I’m drooling just thinking about it. I like grilled cheese as much as the next person, but I’d like to venture away from just cheese and bread. Unless it’s grilled Gruyère on focaccia bread…. That sounds delicious.

Shrimp, Scallops and Pasta in a spicy red sauce (even though the recipe only calls for shrimp). I’m itching to work with seafood and one of the best ways that I’ve ever had shrimp has involved it being with some sort of spicy red sauce or in a cream based sauce. The addition I’d like to add to this recipe is pan seared scallops and unfortunately nobody in the house but me enjoys seafood. Looks like I’ll have to wait until I have the house to myself to make this recipe.

Cinnamon Stewed Chicken. Bone in chicken that’s been cooked with cinnamon in a divine sauce composed of cinnamon, garlic, onion, among other ingredients? Yes please! It’s served over rice with parmesan cheese and sounds like it would make a heart dinner.

Although it won’t happen for a little bit, Pan Seared Duck Breast with Goat Cheese Polenta and Port Wine Reduction. I had duck at my aunt’s wedding back in October and absolutely loved it! It was served with a medley of squash and other good vegetables (which I seem to like despite both my parent’s disliking them). This recipe is a little bit different, but I’m dying to expand my cooking outside of chicken, beef and the occasional pork.

 

