Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m back!

These past two weeks, I was on vacation. I would like to say that I did some cooking, but it was nothing too extravagant. There was a night that I made meatloaf and potatoes; another night I made pork chops and pasta. Down the road, I made chicken alfredo that we ended up eating with chopsticks. The night after that, I made quesadillas and rice.  These are all things that I’ve made before, but never tire of making.

One of my last nights away from home, I made pizza. It was a very impromptu pizza. We had everything in the house. There was diced tomatoes and tomato sauce in the cupboard, mozzarella cheese and dough in the fridge. It was something quick and simple, perfect for a late night meal.

~Recipe: The Impromptu Pizza~

Ingredients:

  • Pillsbury Pizza Dough
  • Can of diced tomatoes, drained
  • Can of Tomato sauce
  • Block of Mozzarella Cheese
  • Olive Oil

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. Roll out pizza dough on a cookie sheet or a stone.
  3. *Optional: If using a pizza stone, make sure it’s heated before putting the dough atop it.*
  4. Cut the mozzarella cheese off of the block in about 1/4″ squares and press into dough until nearly covered.
  5. Drizzle olive oil atop the crust.
  6. Add the diced tomatoes.
  7. Drizzle tomato sauce all over (you don’t have to use the whole can).
  8. Bake in the oven at 375 for 25-30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.
  9. Serve with usual pizza toppings.
