Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Remember that post I made pre-sabbatical? It was the one talking about Mum’s and My ultimate appetizer idea that I wasn’t allowed to post the recipe to. For some reason that night, we tried to take an already perfect appetizer and then make it even better, by adding the pastry from another appetizer that we like so much (tomato bacon cups… yum!). Well, I found another variation for the recipe. This one, I’m allowed to post because it’s my own doing. 

Before I say anything else: I’d like to apologise for the lack of pictures. It was the day after I’d gotten home and didn’t grab my camera when I was headed out the door. Can you blame me? I was still groggy and not quite used to being home in my bed, much as it was missed. Regardless, I’d like to think the taquitos came out delicious. The idea came from the fact Josh was asking after me to make the dip that he loves so much. Rather than do that, I compromised and said I would make him a better dip. Josh and I went to the grocer where I picked up chicken, cheese, and cream cheese. Only when we’d left the store, did we realise we had forgotten chips, but I had an idea already forming.

The idea was to go ahead and make the buffalo chicken dip how I normally would.

There were two differences about making it today:

  1. Rather than using canned, chunked chicken like I had in the past, I would be using a couple of whole, boneless, skinless chicken breasts.
  2. Instead of serving warm with tortilla chips, I would spread it on a corn tortilla, roll it up and bake it*.

I cooked the chicken how I normally do: seared it on both sides until it was no longer pink, added chicken stock, covered the pan and reduced the heat to allow the chicken to finish cooking. When the chicken was finished cooking, I removed it from the pan and let it sit on a plate to cool. While it cooled, I gathered the cream cheese, ranch, blue cheese, and ranch.

When the chicken had sufficiently cooled, I pulled it apart, tossed it into a medium-sized mixing bowl and stirred in the cream cheese until the consistency had thickened. The one thing I prefer about Mum’s method to my aunt’s method for making the dip is that we do it with the mixer. Having to mash cream cheese into chicken can be a forearm workout. That aside, when the chicken and cream cheese were well-combined, I stirred in equal parts ranch and bleu cheese followed by hot sauce.

While I let the mixture set, I warmed up corn tortillas and when those were cool to touch, began to spread the mixture onto each one. While rolling the tortillas up, they would split, making them difficult to move on the pan. Finally, I ran out mixture and was able to transfer the pan to the oven.

Baking is guesswork for me. I didn’t know how long I should bake these for and so went with fifteen minutes. It would be long enough to render the tortillas satisfyingly crispy and make the insides gooey. Luckily, I was right. They came out of the oven, not very pretty, but they smelled delicious. Josh and his mum liked them a lot.

~Recipe: Buffalo Chicken Taquitos~

The base mixture for this recipe has three uses so far. Hopefully, there will be more with time. I already have a couple other ideas brainstormed.

Ingredients

  • 4 TBSP oil
  • 3 medium chicken breasts
  • 1.5 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup ranch dressing**
  • 1/4 cup bleu cheese
  • 1 cup Mexican-blend cheese
  • 1 cup (or more, depends how hot you like your food) Frank’s Red Hot
  • 1 package medium flour/corn tortillas

Method

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Heat oil in a large deep bottom pan. If pan begins smoking, your oil is too hot.
  3. Clean chicken of any extra fat and rinse off. Pat dry and place chicken in pan. Sprinkle salt and pepper on chicken breasts if desired.
  4. Allow chicken to cook 2-3 minutes uncovered on each side or until no longer pink over medium-high heat.
  5. Add chicken stock, cover and reduce heat allowing chicken to cook for 15-20 minutes.
  6. Remove chicken from pan and set on a paper towel lined plate to cool.
  7. When chicken has cooled to the touch, shred with forks or your fingers. Add to medium-sized mixing bowl.
  8. Stir in cream cheese, bleu cheese, ranch, shredded cheese and hot sauce until well combined.
  9. Stir in hot sauce. For the sake of the recipe, I used the sum of one cup, but in our household we go by colour when adding hot sauce. More or less may be desired, depending on how much heat you’d like the mix to have.
  10. Allow mixture to sit while warming tortillas.
  11. Spoon mixture onto tortillas, spreading it.
  12. Roll up tortilla up.
  13. Repeat process until mixture has been used up.
  14. Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.
  15. Enjoy.

Xx Steffanni

~Author’s Notes~

*Amendment: When I originally made the recipe, I used corn tortillas. After making it again, I’ve discovered that flour tortillas work better for rolling them as they don’t split like the corn ones do.

** There are those who don’t like ranch/bleu cheese. In that case, feel free to use 1/2 cup of desired dressing. For instance, I don’t mind either and use both. But my mum doesn’t like bleu cheese and my aunt doesn’t like ranch, thus when originally made with the both of them (my Aunt then Mum respectively), we used only blue cheese for the dip and only ranch for the buffalo chicken cups.

