Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Upstairs, there’s a fridge full of veggies. I was talking to a friend about it and complaining that I wanted to cook, but didn’t have anything but vegetables (we’re devoid of meat in the fridge, unfortunately). He knows I enjoy a good challenge and suggested that I make a vegetable soup/stew. As a stipulation, he added that I could only cook half of the vegetables. Challenge accepted. 

I’m not particularly fond of vegetable-only meals. Granted, I could cook up a batch of zucchini and squash and eat it by itself, but that’s because they’re both really good. That aside, I wasn’t sure what to make. If I’d had the tomatoes or tomato juice, I could have made Gazpacho. Then, the train of thought evolved. Just because I lack the ingredients to make Gazpacho, what’s stopping me from making a 4 vegetable bisque?

I started by pulling vegetables from the fridge.

Pardon the potatoes in the back, they were for something else-
Back to Front: Carrots, Celery, Corn & Green Onion

I don’t know when we acquired the green onions, but it would make an interesting addition, or at least, I hoped it would.

I always figured cutting corn off the cob wasn’t an easy thing to do. The few times I have done it at dinner (with a serrated steak knife, not a butchers knife), the knife slipped and I would end up with a butchered ear of corn. However, it was easy to cut the corn off the cob and soon I had it in a bowl while I moved on towards the carrots.

Whenever I’m cutting up carrots to take for work with hummus, I use a crinkle cutter. But, seeing as this was going to end up in the blender anyway, I didn’t care how I cut them.

 

Before I cut up the celery, I grabbed a pan and tossed the carrots in with some olive oil and butter. I’m not fond of cooked carrots unless they’ve been stewing all day with a pot roast and onions, but they smelled really good while cooking.

In a way, I was making carrot stock because I had added a 1/4 cup of water after about five minutes of sautéeing them.

While the carrots cooked some more, I cleaned and chopped up two sticks of celery, only to have my sister Sydney stealing it off the mat just as I finished cutting it up. After I shooed her away, there was about 1 stick of celery left.

As for the green onion, I had no idea what I was doing when I was chopping it and most of it went into the bowl with the rest of the vegetables.

After the carrots had cooked for 15 minutes, I removed them from the burner and put them into the blender. Except for half of the corn, all of the vegetables ended up in with the carrots in the blender.

It looks like a food processor, but it’s actually the Ninja blender. It can be used as an ice shaver, smoothie maker, and soup maker.

The lid went on and then I blended until smooth. More liquid was necessary, so I added water, 1/4 of a cup at a time until it was smooth. I ended up adding 1/2 of a cup total. After it was blended, I added it back to the pan and added cream, whisking until smooth while it heated through.

The end product?

It’s the same colour as pumpkin pie filling, but it doesn’t taste half bad.

~Recipe: A Vegetarian Friendly Bisque~

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 ear corn, off the cob
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped into half moons
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots chopped into disks
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup water, divided
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 2 TBSP olive oil

Method:

  1. Heat 2 TBSP oil and garlic in medium skillet over medium heat until garlic is puffy and golden (about 2 minutes). Add carrots and sauté until carrots are fragrant, but still firm (about 3-5 minutes). Stir in 1/4 cup water to deglaze pan and allow carrots to cook 15 minutes longer over medium-low heat.
  2. After 15 minutes, remove pan from heat and let carrots sit for 5 minutes.
  3. Add all the vegetables to blender and pulsing until vegetables are smooth, pouring water in 1/4 cup at a time.
  4. Return mix to pan and add cream, whisking until smooth.
  5. Serve warm and enjoy!

 

 

