Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Last Sunday, I did a bit of cooking. Josh and I went to the grocer to pick up some things. At first it was looking like we’d be having pan seared duck breast and goat cheese polenta… and then we found out that the grocer’s butcher doesn’t carry duck. They do, but they’re rather extremist about it; either you buy a whole duck, or you get an already teriyaki marinaded petite breast. I was unimpressed by this and decided that instead we’d do steak and twice baked potatoes instead. Why twice baked potatoes? They were something new and I’d had really good ones Saturday while I was in Rhode Island.

We returned home with our buys:

Yum!
Left To Right, Back: Potatoes, Beef Stock, Teriyaki, Worcestershire, Sour cream
Left to Right, Front: Angust beef steaks, 9×9 pyrex baking dish

I didn’t think too long before I was reaching for the heavy electric skillet that was sitting atop the fridge and in hindsight that wasn’t the best idea. Regardless, I set about getting a sear on the steaks, like such:

As soon as the meat was no longer pink, I poured in half of the beef broth and let it simmer while I set to work with the potatoes…

… If only I had known how much time it takes to make baked potatoes, I would have waited to put the meat on.

I started out by scoring the potatoes and placing them into the oven at 400 to cook.

And then after a half hour, I plucked them from the oven not knowing they wouldn’t be done. When I tried to stick a fork in them, it wouldn’t budge. At this point, I was beginning to worry about the meat overcooking and just wanted the potatoes to cook, so I cut them in half and put them in the microwave for 10 minutes on high.

This yielded much better results. They had cooked mostly throughout.

As soon as they were cool to the touch, I began scooping the insides out where I added milk, butter, and sour cream before giving the mixture a good mashing.

With that done, I put them back into the Pyrex dish and added cheese to each one. You’ll notice there are only three halves and not four. The fourth one fell apart while I was scooping its innards out, but it wasn’t too big of a deal.

When the potatoes finished cooking, I was able to plate.

The meat, like I had suspected, was overcooked, however with BBQ it tasted pretty good. As for the potatoes? They came out great. Not as awesome as my mum makes them, but considering it was my first time having made them like that, they weren’t half bad.

~Recipe: Twice Baked Potatoes~

Even though I pulled mine from the oven and microwaved them. I don’t suggest doing that unless you’re low on time.

Ingredients:

  • 2 large russet potatoes, scrubbed
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup (or more) sour cream
  • 2 cups cheese (I used Mexican blend)

Special Tools Required:

  • Potato masher or Hand mixer

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. While oven heats, rub olive oil on the skins of the freshly cleaned and scrubbed potatoes. Poke the potatoes with a fork all over so they don’t explode in the oven while cooking
  3. When the oven has heated, place potatoes directly onto rack within oven, or on a cookie sheet. Allow potatoes to cook undisturbed for 45 minutes to an hour.
  4. *Alternatively, if short on time, cook potatoes in the microwave for 10 minutes on high*
  5. Remove the potatoes from the oven and allow to cool until cool enough to handle.
  6. At this point, cut the potatoes in half lengthwise and scoop out the insides carefully into a bowl.
  7. Mix potatoes with butter, milk, and sour cream, using a potato masher or hand mixer until desired consistency has been reached (some people like they’re potatoes lumpy).
  8. Place potato mixture back into potato “boats” and add cheese atop each.
  9. Bake in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes or until heated through.
  10. Garnish with additional cheese and sour cream.
  11. Enjoy.

Until Monday (whereupon I’ll talk about the dessert that I made)-

Xx Steffanni

