Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

When we last left off, I had just finished making dinner for Josh and I. While I had enjoyed making dinner, I knew that if it had ended up being a bust, we would still have a divine dessert to look forward to. Seriously, making dessert was a piece of cake. 

The makings of dessert-
a cupcake pan, cake mix, cupcake tins, a heath bar & topping of your liking

I suppose I should start properly: while the potatoes cooked, I had time to whip up the cupcake batter. I could go into detail about how to make the cupcakes, but it’s a given: follow the directions on the box. Unless you’re a fancy pants and can make your own cupcake batter.

At this point, I deviated from the back of the box and began pouring cupcake batter into the tins evenly- or as evenly as you can get with a spoon. It didn’t take long, but just as I had finished, the potatoes finished cooking in the oven and I was able to remove them before sliding in the cupcakes.

This was all fine and perfect until I realised (luckily not too long after Josh and I started eating) that I didn’t set the timer on the cupcakes. I eyed the clock, but didn’t move to time them. I’d done this enough times that although I had panicked momentarily after realising I didn’t time the cupcakes, I was in familiar territory. After we finished dinner, I checked the cupcakes. They had risen and were golden brown. For having not timed them, they looked pretty good.

When they had cooled, I grabbed the other things to make dessert:

Left to Right: Ice Cream Topping, Heath Bar, Ice Cream, Whipped Cream & Cupcakes

Assembling the dessert was pretty simple. However, I did run into a problem when I went to grate the Heath bar over the top, but I’ll get to that in a second. I began by layering still warm cupcake under rich, cool ice cream then sprayed frothy whipped cream atop the decadent mixture (after doing a couple of shots of whipped cream from the can. I mean, how could I not?). While I could have left it be, I decided that I wanted to grate the Heath bar atop the whipped cream. However, I couldn’t because I had left it sitting on the counter near the stove and it had began to melt. As an afterthought (because he reminded me) I added the apple cinnamon topping to Josh’s dessert, but left mine without.

Two desserts, both decadent and delicious.

We sat outside while we ate the desserts and there was very little talking being done. Each bite was simply perfection. The way that the cupcake met ice cream and whipped cream was decadence. Yes, I’d had cake and ice cream paired together before, however, the satisfaction from having done it myself (with the help of a box), made it all that much more enjoyable.

If I could have gone about it differently, I’d have certainly layered bites of cakes and bites of ice cream, rather than having the layer of ice cream and the layer of cake. But with everything else, there is a next time. After all, I have yet to make cake from scratch. As for the Heath bar, now that I’ve had time to think it over, I’ll definitely keep it in the freezer until I absolutely need it next time. It was far too gooey of a mess to try to grate. But I digress, besides those things, the dessert was delicious and I’ll be making it again.

~Recipe: A Little Decadence In Every Bite~

I was inspired by my aunt’s fancy glasses, filled with cake, ice cream and various toppings when I made this. While it’s simple, it would still be a delicious, showy dessert to give company, or something fun to do with the kids (if you have them).

Ingredients:

  • 1 box of cake mix (I don’t specify because it can be your preference)
  • 1 gallon of ice cream
  • 1 can of whipped cream (or alternatively fresh whipped cream, recipe follows)
  • Ice cream topping of your preference (ie, chocolate, caramel, strawberries, etc)
  • 1 king size candy bar (again, your preference)

Special Tools:

  • Cake Pan
  • Cupcake Pan
  • Handheld mixer or Stand Mixer
  • Cheese Grater

Method:

  1. Make cake batter as calls for on the box. Deviate from box directions and fill cupcake tins with cake batter evenly. It will yield a dozen cupcakes. Bake cupcakes at 350 for 10-15 minutes.
  2. Remove cupcakes from the oven and allow to cool. While the cupcakes cool, remove ice cream from the freezer so it will be easier to scoop from the carton.
  3. When the cupcakes have cooled and can be handled, crumble bits of a cupcake into the bottom of a dish or glass and layer ice cream atop it. Repeat this process until the whole cupcake has been used.
  4. Add whipped cream atop the ice cream and cake mixture. Grate candy bar atop the whipped cream. Follow with desired ice cream toppings (warmed chocolate, caramel, etc) if desired.
  5. Repeat steps 3 & 4 as often as necessary.

~Recipe: Whipped Cream~

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 TBSP confectioner sugar

Method:

  1. Whip cream until it begins to get fluffy and peaks form.
  2. Add vanilla extract and confectioner sugar.
  3. Beat until peaks begin to form again.

This recipe was super customizable and I hope you guys explore a bit with the different variations you can do on it (like a chocolate cake base and coffee ice cream… or perhaps a vanilla cake base and decadent chocolate ice cream. The possibilities are endless!)

Until next time,

Xx Steffanni

 

 

