Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hello everyone and welcome to my first installment of (hopefully) many a weekly post.

Today we are putting a quirky spin on a classic quick breakfast: Eggs and Toast. When I was a young lad, my grandmother used to make me fried egg sandwiches all the time. I loved them. I love eggs cooked pretty much any style actually. Sometime in the last year, I purchased an electric griddle. I cannot rave enough about how easy this has made making things for me. No more having to get separate skillets for everything and running out of room…and time. Everything now (mostly) cooks all together and gets served together.

So lets start out. Here is my griddle:

As you can see its nothing fancy, but it does the trick.

Gathering up the ingredients, all we’re going to need is a plate, 2 eggs, 2 slices of bread, and a shotglass. Yes, a shotglass. No we’re not going to be drinking any of that wine you see in the background (although that might be a good idea).

 I use the shotglass to cut holes in the center of the bread. I find that your average shotglass is the perfect size to hold 1 grade AA large egg.  The bread I’m using is 9 grain, but really any normal sandwich bread should work ok.


What you chose to do with the “holes” is up to you. Sometimes I toast them up with the sandwich, sometimes I just eat the bread plain.

The next phase is just as simple as plopping the bread onto the griddle, cracking open the eggs, and depositing their contents in the holes.  You can choose to butter the griddle prior to this or not, it’s up to you. If you’re like me, you prolly already have some leftover bacon grease still chillin in the corners that will work nicely and add a little flavor.

Let the eggs cook for about 2 mins before flipping them (I like my eggs a little runny)

I have to admit it. I’m not anywhere close to a chef. And the first few times I flipped anything, let alone eggs, ended in utter disaster. But after doing a few times, you’ll get the hang of it.  Let the eggs cook for another 2 mins (for harder yolk, let cook longer)

And that’s pretty much it. Plate it up and add whatever little flavour enhancers you’d like.  I like mine with a little cheese and some Chipotle Tobasco. Viola! We have a peek-a-boo sandwich.

If you prefer to have a little more substance, you could slice/grind up some potatoes and have a little hash browns with it. Pair this off with a glass of OJ and you have yourself a pretty decent breakfast. And all in under 10 minutes.

~Single Dad

