Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve never actually “visited” chicken alfredo pizza on the blog before. I’ve covered alfredo a few times; from in pictures, to the recipe, to twisting the recipe to use Gruyère cheese even. But I’ve never actually touched the pizza on here before. I think I meant to last year because I have a picture of it in the “my creations” folder in my pictures library, but I never got around to it. 

It was a cold, rainy Saturday afternoon and mum and I had nothing better to do. I had pizza dough in the fridge that needed to be used and had recently found a recipe for chicken alfredo pizza. Off that bat, I knew I wanted to make it.

The pizza’s alfredo sauce recipe called for the following:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 2 cups cubed chicken
  • Chicken stock

Here’s what I had on hand:

  • 1 block of pecorino romano (I didn’t realise how strong it was until after I bought it)
  • 1 pint of heavy cream
  • Garlic
  • Chicken

When confronted with this, I asked mum about going to get some milk and she told me that dad would bring some home. Being impatient as I am, I started cooking the chicken and waiting. When the chicken finished cooking, I removed it from the pan and added the cream. I whisked until it was smooth and well blended then tasted it. It was horrible. I added in some of the cheese thinking it would help and it didn’t. Instead of the cream flavour, it was no overwhelmingly cheesy. I chopped up goodness knows how many cloves of garlic and added them in. It slowly started to smell better and then I got it to the taste I wanted. It tasted great, a little bit rich and garlic-y, but hey we weren’t going out. When I finished up with the sauce, I turned my attention to the chicken. Without thinking, I cut it into bite sized pieces and replaced it in the sauce. Mum stretched the dough across the pizza stone (something I honestly can’t do, it has to be a mum thing) and then we poured the sauce over it and put it in the oven.

The end result: 

It was delicious. Mum and I sat playing scrabble and eating the pizza by the hunk. If only I had known about rubbing the dough with a olive oil, then. The crust was great, but not as delicious as I make it now. The only thing mum and I didn’t like about the garlic bread-esque pizza was the chicken. We agreed that if we ever made it again, we would shred the chicken, not cube it.

Let’s fast forward to Friday.

Friday I had it stuck in my head that I was going to make alfredo pizza again if it killed me. This time things were reversed and I had milk instead of heavy cream. While I’d never made alfredo sauce without heavy cream before, I figured why not?

The things I had on hand –
Back, left to right: Kraft Parmesan Cheese, Milk
Middle: Whole wheat linguine noodles, 1 bulb of garlic
Front: chicken and dough

I started like I was making chicken alfredo normally: by cooking the chicken. 

After I was done being impressed about the fact I had made something similar to a stock or broth, I stirred in the milk and whisked until it was incorporated.

Already, I didn’t like where this was going. It didn’t look right, it didn’t smell right, it wasn’t the right consistency. Yet, I continued and stirred in some parmesan cheese. The cheese didn’t do anything for the consistency, but I lowered the heat and let it bubble while I turned my attention to shredding the chicken.

After the chicken was shredded, I folded it back into the sauce and waited while the linguine cooked on the back burner. Even after adding the chicken back to the sauce, it still didn’t look or smell how alfredo usually smells. But I was halfway done; the oven was heating up, and I had dough stretched out onto a baking pan.

When the linguine finished cooking, I strained it and then combined it with the alfredo sauce. This was when I noticed that the sauce was… gritty and far too thin. I didn’t know what else to do, so I put it in the oven and let it cook. While it was cooking, the house took on a delicious aroma and I wasn’t so worried. I didn’t time how long it was in the oven, instead I let it cook until the edges were barely golden and the pasta was browned on top.

Carefully I cut into it, it was definitely done. I cut a couple pieces off for Josh and took the small corner for myself.

While we sat and ate, I questioned him asking what I could have done differently. He offered three pieces of advice:

  1. “It’s good, but it needs more chicken.”
  2. “Where’s the sauce?” So next time, don’t not pick up stock and heavy cream. Both are crucial to a good thick alfredo sauce.
  3. It would be interesting as a deep dish pizza and try that next time

While sopping up the last bit of hot sauce I had put on the plate, I knew already what I would do differently the next time I made this. Next time I would add broccoli for a bit of conflicting texture and I would most definitely serve it with a fork and knife if I was going to keep the linguine noodles on because it was a mess trying to eat it as finger food.

~Taking The Best Of Both Recipes: Chicken Alfredo Pizza~

Since making the pizza on Friday, I’ve been brooding as to how to take both recipes and combine them to make the perfect alfredo pizza. You need cream instead of milk; fresh grated parmesan instead of that Kraft stuff; and you want to leave off the linguine noodles unless you want to serve it with a fork and a knife. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 TBSP Olive Oil
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic (or more to taste), minced
  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1.5 cups grated parmesan cheese (NOT THAT KRAFT STUFF)
  • Pizza Dough (store bought, home made, whatever strikes your fancy)
  • **OPTIONAL** Whole Wheat Linguine Noodles, cooked

Special Tools:

  • Pizza Stone (If you don’t have it, that’s fine. A cookie sheet lined with parchment paper will do just fine)
  • Cheese Grater

Method:

  1. In deep bottom skillet over medium heat, warm olive oil until shimmering. Add garlic and cook until garlic is golden and puffy, about 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add chicken and cook until chicken is no longer pink, about 2-3 minutes on each side.
  3. Stir in chicken stock, cover and allow to simmer undisturbed for fifteen minutes.
  4. Remove chicken, setting it aside and stir in heavy cream and whisk until combined.
  5. Gradually stir in the parmesan cheese, until well combined.
  6. When chicken has cooled sufficiently, shred it with a pair of forks or your fingers into bite sized pieces. Fold it back into the sauce.
  7. Heat oven to 375 degrees
  8. Allow the sauce to simmer over low heat while you work with your pizza dough, stretching it out.
  9. Carefully pour sauce over dough evenly.
  10. Bake pizza at 375 degrees until the crust is golden brown and the sauce is bubbly, about 25-30 minutes.
  11. Remove pizza from oven and let cool for an additional 10 minutes to allow pizza to set and then cut into it.
  12. Garnish with your favourite pizza extras (ie, cheese, pepper flakes, hot sauce, bleu cheese, etc) and enjoy!

Xx Steffanni

