Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

At the beginning of the season, I wrote a post about how much I loathe cooking steaks under the broiler in the oven. I’ll say it again: there’s nothing like the ability to cook steak on a grill. You simply cannot get the same delicious flavour and gorgeous look by throwing your steak in the oven under the broiler (or at 400 degrees for an hour), it just doesn’t happen.

Even though it’s October and the days grow shorter, Sunday night I grilled steaks. While it was cold and gray, the ability to stand over the piping hot grill was a relief. Especially because it’s a grill that I’m familiar with, but that’s another post. Anyway,  I had barely made it in the house before my dad asked me if I wanted to grill the steaks and I had obviously said sure. After getting the grill cleaned, I took the steaks outside so I could grill them.

Steaks + Hot Grill = One of the best meals known to man

 

After four minutes on both sides:

The steaks were so thin that they were well done after eight minutes. I knew that the steak on the back left was still going to be medium rare, but I didn’t mind. After all, that was the steak I wanted. But of course, my dad had different plans. He took half of it and then gave me the other half. I ate it while my grandmother looked on in disapproval.

So maybe it was a bit rare on the inside, but that’s fine. I know many people who will agree when I say that the more you cook a steak, the more you ruin it. It’s one of those meats where you don’t have to cook it a lot. If you over cook a steak, it becomes like shoe leather and loses all of it’s flavour. I’m not the kind of person who will eat a steak black and blue (seared on the outside, still bleeding on the inside, or as near to it still being attached to the cow as it can be, aside from flat out raw, that is), but I do enjoy a fair share of pink on the inside. It’s hamburger that you have to be wary of. Hamburger should* always be cooked to 160 degrees Fahrenheit, and have little or no pink at all in the center.

Until next time-

Xx Steffanni

~Author’s Note~

* When I say should, it’s one of those things that’s a safety recommendation. During my servsafe course, it was taught to us that you have to cook ground beef to a minimum internal temperature of 160 degrees Fahrenheit, unless you want to add the “meat and eggs contain bacteria that may not be killed if eaten raw” (or something like that) warning on a restaurant menu.

 

 

 

 

