Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lately, I’ve been looking at things to make that are different. Now that I know where I can get duck breasts, I’ll be making duck breasts and polenta with a port wine reduction at some point. Or maybe once I get my hands on some pistachios, I found this wicked recipe for pistachio pesto in Bon Apetit. The idea of taking that pesto and having it with whole wheat spaghetti and a side of chicken (still figuring out how to cook it to accent the pasta) sounds divine, doesn’t it? But until then, yesterday I settled on something simple and nostalgic. 

As a child, I was introduced to those pizza bagels that you can just pop in the microwave for a quick nosh. When I was slightly older, and while we still very often kept the makings for pizza in the fridge (we used to make it home made a lot, until the convection setting on the oven died), mum showed me how to make pizza bagels/toast in the toaster oven.

Up until yesterday, I had never made the sauce myself, nor had I ever used English muffins to make these. The sauce I used to make these was the same as the one I’ve used in the past to make the gnocchi with red sauce and chicken and before that, the chicken margherita pizza.

This time, however, I used petite cut tomatoes for the base of the sauce and wasn’t planning on putting chicken in it. It wasn’t until I had started going about things that Josh suggested I put chicken in the sauce. At first I didn’t like the idea. This wasn’t something I had readily available to me when I would make it as a child. Then again, I wasn’t making my own sauce then, either. So, I went with it.

While the oven warmed and sauce bubbled away on the stove, I was busy cutting the English muffins in half. To be on the safe side, I cut five in half yielding ten total. I had never done this with stove fresh sauce, so when it came time to top each muffin with sauce, I was as careful as possible. Each muffin was then topped with a touch of cheese and for nostalgia’s sake, a slice of pepperoni.

After twenty minutes in the oven at 375, the end result was almost just like I remembered.

Each bite was filled with the underlying crunch of the English muffin meeting bits of flavourful chicken and tomatoes. The pepperoni, though, was the best part. Josh would pluck it off and pop it in his mouth after eating the rest of it. Even though I had made ten, only two survived for Josh’s mum to try and even she liked them.

~Recipe: Pizza Muffins~

The cool thing about these muffins is that they can be eaten whenever. Say you’ve got just pepperoni and cheese on hand with a can of tomato sauce, you can make a couple for yourself or they’re perfect for an after school snack for the kids. The best part is that you don’t even have to use the oven. If you have a toaster oven (which, we use ours for everything), they can be made in there. 

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 3 English Muffins, halved
  • **Optional** 1 cup of chicken cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 cup Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 can Petite Cut diced tomatoes (you’ll have leftover sauce)
  • 1 can Tomato Paste
  • 6 pieces of pepperoni

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 375
  2. While the oven is heating up, get the sauce into a medium saucepan over medium heat.
  3. Cut the English muffins in half, and set them on a foil lined baking sheet.
  4. After the sauce has been heated up and is bubbling, carefully ladle sauce onto each muffin and top with cheese and a piece of pepperoni.
  5. Bake for twenty minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbling.

~Recipe: pizza bagels~

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 3 bagels, halved
  • **Optional** 1 cup of chicken cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 cup Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 can Petite Cut diced tomatoes (you’ll have leftover sauce)
  • 1 can Tomato Paste
  • 6 pieces of pepperoni

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 375
  2. While the oven is heating up, get the sauce into a medium saucepan over medium heat.
  3. Cut the bagels in half, and set them on a foil lined baking sheet.
  4. After the sauce has been heated up and is bubbling, carefully ladle sauce onto each bagel and top with cheese and a piece of pepperoni.
  5. Bake for twenty minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbling.
