Tags

, , , ,

So Easter has come and gone again. Like every year, our was laid back and lovely.

This year, we had a bit of variety when it came to food. Just take a look at my plate.

Food! There's some scalloped potatoes, mash, bbq kielbasa, kielbasa and saur kraut, roast and a slice of ham. Completely worth skipping breakfast for.

Food! There’s some scalloped potatoes, mash, bbq kielbasa, kielbasa and saur kraut, roast and a slice of ham. Don’t forget the asparagus, either! Completely worth skipping breakfast for.

There’s just a bit of food there, but it was all really good. Wasting no time, I was mentally making notes of what I enjoyed and what I didn’t. The mash, which is what I prepared, came out bland to me. I think it had something to do with the fact that I should have used heavy cream in place of milk. They (the potatoes) were also too soft, as it was. But, I can’t fault my aunt for that because she was already bustling around the kitchen with other things and pressured cooked them to save on time. The scalloped potatoes were good, but then again, when aren’t they? I was honestly more impressed with the saur kraut and kielbasa more so than the ham. I don’t know what was up with my taste buds, I preferred eating it over eating the ham. As you can see, there was also bbq kielbasa. Which, up until a little bit ago, I would have preferred to eat over the saur kraut and kielbasa any day. But even now, after it took back seat to the aforementioned  it was still good in flavour. There were two types of beef roast, yet only one is shown above. The one I tried had little cloves of garlic injected in it in places that helped add some flavour. The other one I tried (not pictured) had a paprika, garlic salt, and black pepper rub. It was chock full of flavour, though a little on the over done side. What it lacked in texture, it made up in flavour. Finally, the asparagus. Up until now, I’ve always turned my nose up at it. But I saw it on the counter with the other side dish veggies (think corn and green beans) and skipped over them, indulging my adventurous taste buds. After biting into a piece, it occurred to me that there might be something off with it. Yes, it had an interesting, unique, yet good flavour, but the texture threw me for a loop. I never thought it was limp, like a wet noodle. I’ve always imagined it to have more of a crunch. But texture aside, it was pretty good. My aunt seasoned it with salt and pepper and added parmesan cheese.

If there’s anything from that plate that I’ll want to replicate any time soon, it’s going to have to be the saur kraut and kielbasa as well as the asparagus. I’m also hoping to try my hand at scalloped potatoes from scratch, but I digress.

Not your usual cheesecake dessert. The base was made with pretzels and the usual cheesecake filling was replaced with Strawberry Jell-O.

Not your usual cheesecake dessert. The base was made with pretzels and the usual cheesecake filling was replaced with Strawberry Jell-O.

Some time after dinner, I meandered back into the kitchen to see what there was for dessert. There was nothing really that piqued my interest save for something that was covered with whipped cream. Giving in to curiosity, I cut a square from the 12×9 pan and tried a bite. Instead of the Graham cracker crust, I was met with the slight saltiness of pretzels meeting delicate, sweet strawberry filling. It was an odd match, but it worked.

Maybe next Easter I can talk my family into allowing me to cook, but for the time being, the food was good and I got to indulge my newly adventurous tastebuds and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Stay Hungry,

~Steffanni

