Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

A while back, my aunt subscribed me to Bon Apetit magazine. It quickly became one of the things I most often looked forward to. Near the end of every month a new issue came out and I would peruse it, looking for something that I might be adventurous enough to try. Back in… October, the home entertaining issue came out and on one of its pages, there was 3 different ways in which you could use the pistachio. 

Towards the bottom of the page, I found that it would make a good pesto. Always hearing about pesto being used in one of my coworker’s cooking and having always been intrigued, I shelved the idea for a later time. Because it was at this point that I was up to my ears in peppers from a friend. It wasn’t until last week that I was able to finally try the idea. And I won’t lie: I wish I hadn’t.

I gathered my ingredients like always.

You'd never suspect that pistachios, tomatoes, whole wheat linguine and cheese wouldn't jive. They're all so good on their own.

You’d never suspect that pistachios, tomatoes, whole wheat linguine and cheese wouldn’t jive. They’re all so good on their own.

I wish I had snapped a picture, but I had to shell about 24 oz of pistachios. Some of them got eaten along the way, of course.

After getting the pistachios shelled, I coarsely chopped the tomato.

IMG_7227editAfter chopping the tomato, I added it, the pistachios and the 2 cloves of garlic to the ninja, giving them a few pulses until a course goo came together. This is where things went south, I think. I made the mistake of adding the olive oil and then pulsing it again.

This is what resulted.

It looks weird, it smelled weird. It tasted overwhelmingly like garlic.

It looks weird, it smelled weird. It tasted overwhelmingly like garlic.

I hoped that by adding the cheese to it when I tossed it with pasta, it would be okay. I mean… it looked okay, didn’t it?

IMG_7231editI don’t think I stopped cringing the whole time I picked at strands of spaghetti. All I could taste and smell was garlic. Normally I’m a lover of garlic, but not that time. Yuck.

I’m going to clearly have to revisit this and not deviate from the recipe like I had and hopefully, just hopefully, it’ll come out okay.

