Tags

, , , , ,

Hu Ke Lau Restaurant
(413)-567-1212
827 Williams Street,
Longmeadow, Massachusetts

Takeout, carry away, order in…

There’s a great number of restaurants that fit the bill for a place where you can dial up and get good food delivered to your house, apartment, etc. The Hu Ke Lau would fall under the category of places to order from, except for two things.

1. They don’t deliver.
2. The food happens to be a million times better fresh from the wok, served and eaten in house.

Over the years, I’ve eaten here often. I’m only just now stopping to write about it. My most recent adventure up to the Hu Ke Lau was on Josh’s 21st birthday. After telling him about it forever, we finally made the venture up there together. He went with one goal in mind: finish a scorpion bowl. I on the other hand was going again so that I could get pictures for a review. Well that, and the food is just that good.

The Scorpion Bowl. I couldn't tell you what's in it, but it's big, and apparently it tastes good.

The Scorpion Bowl. I couldn’t tell you what’s in it, but it’s big, and apparently it tastes good.

So because he was newly 21, Josh ordered a scorpion bowl. All throughout dinner he worked at it steadily and it was only after we had finished eating and were sitting and talking that he managed to finish it.

When it came to actual food, we ordered a handful of things. I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking.

The Pu Pu Platter "Consists of Fried Shrimp, Barbecued Chicken Wings, Egg Rolls, Barbecued Spare Ribs, Gold Fingers, and Teriyaki Beef (Only one substitution within the Pu Pu Platter at 1.50 additional charge)" 

We substituted the chicken wings for more gold fingers and got boneless spareribs instead of ribs.

The Pu Pu Platter “Consists of Fried Shrimp, Barbecued Chicken Wings, Egg Rolls, Barbecued Spare Ribs, Gold Fingers, and Teriyaki Beef
(Only one substitution within the Pu Pu Platter at 1.50 additional charge)”
We substituted the chicken wings for more gold fingers and got boneless spareribs instead of ribs.

Wor dip, also known as fried dumplings. These are the best I've had, next to China Sea's Szechuan wontons in spicy peanut oil.

Wor dip, also known as fried dumplings. These are the best I’ve had, next to China Sea’s Szechuan wontons in spicy peanut oil.

"Hot

Hu Ke Lau is the only place where I’ll order beef from. I’ve found in my takeout experiences that most beef tastes… fishy to me. The spicy chicken and beef actually tastes like chicken and beef, not fish.

Steamed white rice to go with the beef and chicken

Steamed white rice to go with the beef and chicken

My plate (well, the only one I took a picture of).

My plate (well, the only one I took a picture of).

The food not only arrived quickly, but it was super delicious and not as greasy as some of the stuff that I get from takeout.

As far as cost goes, you want to think around $ to $$$. This all depends on the number of people who you’re eating with, what they’re drinking, etc. Josh and I ordered a bunch of food, but we had a bunch of leftovers as well and spent $60. Was it worth it? Absolutely.

